Recast Fragments (2015)

for clarinet, violin, cello, piano, and electroacoustic music

9 min

Movement I

Movement II

Movement III

Movement IV

Recasting is the process of giving new form to an object by melting it down and reshaping it. This metaphor captures the way in which I approached composing the four movements of Recast Fragments. In the first and third movements, the musical material has been rearranged and reworked with respect to instrumental register, orchestration, timbre, and the electronics. The second and fourth movements share the same harmonic framework and sense of atmosphere but the details of the musical surface have been significantly transformed.



November 6, 2015

Ensemble U

Third Practice Electroacoustic Music Festival

Camp Concert Hall

Richmond, VA


November 3, 2015

Ensemble U

St Cloud State University

Performing Arts Center, Recital Hall

620 3rd Ave South.

St. Cloud, MN